Monthly News and Updates from IdahoSTARS


Versión en Español

Summer Safety (6).png

IdahoSTARS badges recognize your expertise in early childhood education. Each badge represents a domain or specialized area of accomplishment in early childhood development. Earn points through certification, training, Targeted Technical Assistance (TTA), employment history, and/or coaching cycles. Each badge is awarded by earning a combination of at least 10 points through approved activities. Each badge is recognized by a certificate and on your Professional Development Record (PDR) in RISE.

To learn more about each individual badge and how to earn points, please refer to our updated 2022 - 2023 BADGE GUIDE

A downloadable PDF version can be found in the RISE Help Section under the PDS (Professional Development System) tile.

To submit an application for a badge click here.


Any child care provider with a verified PDS level AND who is eligible for IdahoSTARS incentives is eligible for a Badge Recognition. Is your PDS Level 1 - unverified? Upload proof of your highest level of education in RISE! If you don’t have your diploma, contact for an exemption form.


Child care providers can earn as many badges as they choose, but only one badge per domain. If you earned a particular badge last year, it won’t be awarded again. For providers who are eligible for incentives and have a verified PDS Level, a $500 recognition will be awarded for up to two badges. We've been able to offer the $500 recognitions through stabilization funds that were offered through the pandemic that will end July 1, 2023. We are happy to report, you'll still receive a recognition when badges return on October 1, 2023, but due to stabilization funding ending, that recognition will be $100 per badge.  


Each badge has its own specific requirements. The application will close on June 15, 2023.


We've had such great success with badges that we will be bringing them back on October 1, 2023. We will use your feedback to improve our processes and procedures before the fall relaunch. 

You can earn the following EIGHT badges:

  • Business Practices Badge
  • Child Development Badge
  • Environments, Curriculum & Instruction Badge
  • Pyramid Model Badge
  • Health, Safety & Wellness Badge
  • Inclusion & Diversity Badge
  • Montessori Badge
  • Partnerships with Families & Communities Badge

Questions? Call 2-1-1 and ask for the IdahoSTARS training office or email

You can also refer to the frequently asked questions page in the badge guide.